Happiness

Can’t you see my mascara running?
My heart is in so much pain
You lied to lead me
You lead me on filling my head with truthful lies
Lies that weren’t true at all
Just what did you see in me in the first place?
I believed in you, but you made me think different
You’ve moved on so quickly to her
I’m happy for you and her
But what about me?
My heart is cold as ice
My attitude is as bitter unsweetened coffee
I see you kiss her
I heard you say you love her
I’m happy for you and her
But what about me?
Look what you did, what about what you said?
Don’t you care for me at all?
all of me wants to hate you
But lord knows I can’t, my feelings
Searched and found you
Now I can’t let go, but I also can’t stay
But even just calling your phone, and hearing the voicemail hurts
Like the bruise you put on my heart
I’m happy for you and her
So I will move it along
Brush off the dirt you left in my path
Even though I feel stupid for letting you in
You will not rain on my shine
I’m happy for you and her
Even if being happy means being hurt
I wanted us
I cared about us
But you took my lust and turned it into dust
You turned it into something ugly and all about you
I’m sorry you’re not happy with your life
But you will not ruin mine.
So I wish to you nothing but the best of luck
To find your own happiness.
Even though you are unhappy, just know I’m
Happy for you
Even if that means being hurt
©Kiah-kay Holman, 2015

Leave a Reply

