Phrase me

Hang that nigger
Arrest that negro
Shoot that nigga

We are colored folks
We are proud to be darker
But being darker doesn’t mean we are less than a human
Each and every year our multiplism is not bigger we are smaller
We were multiplying, now we are all dying

Hang that Nigger
Arrest that Negro
Shoot that Nigga

I am not an animal
I am not a wild monkey
Therefore you will no longer label me
Because the difference between you and I
My mind is strong, while your mind is full
Yes, my people preach evil
But only because you teach violence
That proves we are not equal
So phrase me again…

Hang that Nigger
Arrest that Negro
Shoot that Nigga

We have invented things, and earned degrees
Even the smartest non-colored folk could not achieve
We the black folks succeed, but not for our needs
We succeed to prove, and reinforce the negative mind
We are big, bold, and brave
So now it is time for the clock to rewind
And praise my own kind
We have cut in far too deep to quit
So if you phrase our labels again…
We will be proud to own it, for we know
We are dying, but the success in our spirits
Are still living
©Kiah-kay Holman, 2015

Leave a Reply

