Younger wishes

I wish someone would have taught me about
Adulthood
Since I was 12 years old I wished to be an adult.
I wanted to have the fast life
I wanted to go party at 21+ clubs
I wanted the police to pull me over
So I can flash my drivers license in his or her face
I wanted to be 18 so I can move out
And invite all of my friends to my house
I wanted to drive my own Mercedes
To burn up gas just to fill the tank up
Because I know I had the money
I wanted to eat at Crave everyday for dinner
I wanted to soak in my bath and drink red wine
But no one told me how difficult Adulthood is
Here I am struggling to make ends meet
Still catching the train
And I sit in the house because I can’t afford to go anywhere
I eat noodles, ravioli or hot dogs for dinner.
Bills are due left and right
Why didn’t anyone tell me anything
About being on my own?
I wish to be a 10 years old again
Under my parents roof watching “How the Grinch Stole Christmas” with my brother.
I wish to not live a frustrating life.

Copyright©Kiah-kay Holman, 2015

Leave a Reply

