Love Doesn’t Conquer All

The lady in pink covered in love,

shivers within pain among her ankles

she says “I shall walk without shackles glued to me”

The lady in pink covered in love,

cries with pride among her heart

she says “I have pride, but my pride is fading”

there are no windows to look through, there are no voices to hear

It’s Unfortunate that I’m happily unhappy

my apologies, my eyes don’t sparkle

I am longer s supernova

It’s not surprising that he’s physically emotional

It’s funny how they start off on the outside wrapped around your skin like grandma’s well knitted scarf

Then you’re eyes lock together like frozen promises…’’I do”…thee only two love words that lobbies It’s way into my head

And in thee end, they sink themselves into my skin like a permanent marker on paper, staining my heart

causing mixed emotions, combining confusion and lust

confusion lust, like water and oil, they just don’t mix no matter how hard I try

lady in pink covered in love,

she ballet dances on beer bottle tops with ragged clothing

she says “I dance with desire, but with no hope, I stand tall with failure I once thought was pride that I now have bandages upon’’

the lady in red covered in hate,

scowles a flashback printed behind the pupil,

she says ‘’ where’s the love? Does love hate me? Why does the love scar me so deep?… Why doesn’t it reply? Is it like a god, listens but no verbal response, only spiritually? I just want something to have, to hold to adore and to care for…I have not one.. I have nothing.

It’s nothing a little makeup can’t cover up, a smile to change, a laugh to exchange, and a tear to dry.’’

lady in the blue covered with silence and peroxide,

screeching for help, mentally buried alive in a casket

she says “don’t look for me, leave me to rot, for I the subject  and the subject is a hopeless failure. I am to drain the pain and bleed out the evil spirit swimming deep in my soul

to cure the the leaking faucet, please come help it but not I. The leakage cannot be stopped

It’s leaking blood. no please not on my dear shackles.”

what happens when a woman plays her secret?

only one way to find out

run to the end of the road over by the cliff of the sidewalk…

It’s my incredible desire I have yet to find.

Poor emotions yet rich in thought

copyright© Kiah-kay Holman, 2013

One thought on “Love Doesn’t Conquer All

  1. Kiah, I admire many things about this poem. The lines, “It’s unfortunate that I’m happily unhappy / my apologies, my eyes don’t sparkle / I am no longer a supernova,” contain a series of delightful turns and surprising diction. Also, “Lady in blue covered with silence and peroxide / screeching for help, mentally buried alive in a casket.” And, “what happens when a woman plays her secret? / only one way to find out / run to the end of the road over by the cliff of the sidewalk.” Keep writing. I’ll read.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

